NATO Parliamentary Assembly
HomeNEWSNews 20051 July 2005 PRESS STATEMENT - On the Russia-Estonia Border Treaty

1 July 2005 PRESS STATEMENT - On the Russia-Estonia Border Treaty

Google Buzz

Pierre Lellouche, President of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly and member of the French National Assembly, strongly condemns the decision of 21 June by the government of the Russian Federation not to forward the Russia-Estonia treaty that defines the border between the two countries to the Duma for ratification.

The treaty, signed on 18 May in Moscow by Ministers of Foreign Affairs Sergei Lavrov of Russia and Urmas Paet of Estonia, is the fair result of ten years of negotiations between the two countries. The document, moreover, recognises the sovereignty of Russia over the areas of Iaanilinn (Ivangorod) and Petseri (Pechory) that were originally part of Estonia. The text of the preamble attached by the Estonians to the treaty, which was approved by the Estonian parliament on June 20, contains no reservations toward the treaty itself, no demands of any kind, and no conditions for the treaty's implementation as signed by the Russian side.

 Mr Lellouche expresses his strong wish that the Russian government would resume the ratification process and encourages his colleagues members of the Russian Duma to ratify the treaty.