Fact Sheet for the Press

Founded in 1955, the NATO Parliamentary Assembly (NATO PA) serves as the consultative inter-parliamentary organisation for the North Atlantic Alliance. 


The Assembly provides a forum in which parliamentarians from the 28 members of the North Atlantic Alliance meet together regularly in order to exchange views on key concerns and problems and to provide an indication of parliamentary and public opinion towards Alliance policies.  The Assembly also fulfils an educational and informative role for politicians vis-à-vis NATO and its activities.


The NATO PA consists of 257 delegates from the 28 NATO member countries. Delegates from 13 associate countries; 4 Mediterranean associate countries; the European Parliament; as well as parliamentary observers from 8 other countries and 2 inter-parliamentary assemblies also take part in its activities.


The Assembly is financed by the parliaments or governments of the NATO PA member states. Each country’s contribution is based on the NATO Civil Budget formula.


The Assembly’s governing body is the Standing Committee, which is composed of the Head of each member delegation, the President, the Vice-Presidents, the Treasurer and the Secretary General.

The International Secretariat under its Secretary General, is responsible for all administration and the bulk of research and analysis that supports the Assembly’s Committees, Sub-Committees and other groups.


Two sessions are held each year - in the Spring and Autumn (‘Annual’) - in different countries;

Rose-Roth Programme

A central part of the Assembly’s work is the Rose-Roth Programme of partnership and co-operation - initially with Central and Eastern European countries but subsequently throughout the Euro-Atlantic region. This programme seeks to assist partner countries, mainly in the Balkans and the South Caucasus, through a challenging transition process, which involves the implementation of difficult political and economic reforms.

The Rose-Roth Programme involves a series of seminars focused on regional and topical security issues and training programmes for parliamentary staff and members of Parliament. The aim is to enhance parliamentary awareness, build contacts and provide experience and expertise.  Particular attention is paid to promoting the principle of the democratic control of armed forces and to the development of effective parliamentary oversight of defence and the military. 

Committees and Sub-Committees        

Committee on the Civil Dimension of Security (CDS)
  Sub-Committee on Democratic Governance (CDSDG)
Defence and Security Committee (DSC)
  Sub-Committee on Future Security and Defence Capabilities (DSCFC)
  Sub-Committee on Transatlantic Defence and Security Cooperation (DSCTC)
Economics and Security Committee (ESC)
  Sub-Committee on Transition and Development (ESCTD)
  Sub-Committee on Transatlantic Economic Relations (ESCTER)
Political Committee (PC)
  Sub-Committee on NATO Partnerships (PCNP)
  Sub-Committee on Transatlantic Relations (PCTR)
Science and Technology Committee (STC)
  Sub-Committee on Technology Trends and Security (STCTTS)

Other Fora

The Mediterranean an Middle East Special Group (GSM), The Ukraine-NATO Inter-parliamentary Council (UNIC), The Transatlantic Parliamentary Forum (FOR)

Officers of the Assembly

Paolo ALLI (Italy)
Metin Lutfi BAYDAR (Turkey)
Joseph A. DAY (Canada)
Rasa JUKNEVICIENE (Lithuania)
Sverre MYRLI (Norway)
Marc ANGEL (Luxembourg)
Secretary General
David HOBBS (United Kingdom)

Advanced search

Read also

    No related articles