WPS award header

The NATO Parliamentary Assembly has a long-standing commitment to the promotion and implementation of the Women, Peace and Security agenda. Continuing the efforts already made in this direction and following the celebrations in October 2020 of the 20th anniversary of the adoption of UN Security Council Resolution 1325, the NATO PA Standing Committee has decided to create a "Women for Peace and Security Award". The award was presented for the first time in 2021 during the Annual Session in Lisbon. The purpose of this prize is to honour a woman who has demonstrated, in the context of political, diplomatic, military, associative and/or academic functions, a particular and recognised commitment to: 

  • equal participation of women and men in the field of peace and security. 
  • the prevention of conflict-related sexual and gender-based violence and the protection of women in conflict situations. 
  • and/or the mainstreaming of women's needs and perspectives into relief and recovery initiatives in post-conflict countries. 

Each NATO PA delegation of member countries can nominate a candidate, through its Head of Delegation and nominees must be nationals of a NATO member or partner country and of legal age. NATO PA delegations from member countries may, if they wish, nominate a woman of a nationality other than that of the country they represent. 

The winner of the award is selected by a jury composed of members of the NATO PA Bureau and Special Representative of the NATO Secretary General for Women, Peace and Security, and is announced at the Annual Session

Press queries: press@nato-pa.int

Winner of the Women in Peace & Security Award 2022

At the 68th Annual Session in Madrid Ms Olha Stefanishyna, Deputy Prime Minister for European and…

Read more

Winner of the Women in Peace & Security Award 2021

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, was awarded the…

Read more