

NATO Parliamentary Assembly

SIXTY-EIGHTH ANNUAL SESSION

MINUTES

PLENARY SITTING

Monday 20 November 2022

Hotel Meliá Castilla

Madrid, Spain

November 2022

I. Opening of the Sitting

The 68th Annual Session was opened at 9:30 on Monday 21 November 2022 with Gerald E. Connolly (United States), President of NATO Parliamentary Assembly, in the chair.

The President declared the 68th Annual Session of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly open.

II. Address by Gerald E. CONNOLLY, President of NATO Parliamentary

Assembly

The President addressed the Assembly.

III. Address by Ander GIL, President of the Senate of Spain

Mr Gil addressed the Assembly.

The President thanked Mr Gil.

IV. Address by Meritxell BATET, President of the Congress of Deputies of Spain

Ms Batet addressed the Assembly.

The President thanked Ms Batet.

V. The Secretary General of NATO and Chairman of the North Atlantic Council, Jens Stoltenberg was announced and welcomed to the meeting.

VI. Address by Pedro SÁNCHEZ, President of the Government of Spain

Mr Sánchez addressed the Assembly.

The President thanked Mr Sánchez.

VII. Election of the President of the Assembly

The President invited the candidates for President, Vice-President of the Assembly Mimi Kodheli (Albania) and Vice-President Joëlle Garriaud-Maylam (France), to present their candidacy for the presidency.

Mimi Kodheli (Albania) addressed the assembly and withdrew her candidacy.

Joëlle Garriaud-Maylam (France) was elected by acclamation.

VIII. Acceptance Speech by the President-elect of the Assembly

President-elect of the Assembly Joëlle Garriaud-Maylam (France) addressed the Assembly.

The President thanked Mimi Kodheli and Joëlle Garriaud-Maylam.

IX. Address by Jens Stoltenberg, Secretary General of NATO and Chairman of the North Atlantic Council, followed by a question and answer period

Mr Stoltenberg addressed the Assembly and answered questions from Zaida Cantera (Spain), Solomiia Bobrovska (Ukraine), Julie Dzerowicz (Canada), Michael R. Turner (United States), Osman Askin Bak (Türkiye), Mimi Kodheli (Albania), Anne Genetet (France), Luca Frusone (Italy), Salima Belhaj (the Netherlands), Jiri Horak (Czech Republic), Theo Francken (Belgium), Johann David Wadephul (Germany), Trond Helleland (Norway), Matej Tonin (Slovenia), Njall Trausti Fridberstsson (Iceland), Ante Bacic (Croatia), Arta Bilalli Zendeli (North Macedonia), Mati Raidma (Estonia), Zsolt Németh (Hungary), Ana Maria Catauta (Romania), Raimonds Bergmanis (Latvia), Hristo Gadzhev (Bulgaria), Michal Szczerba (Poland), Lord Hamilton of Epsom (United Kingdom), Manousos Konstantinos Voloudakis (Greece), Hans Wallmark (Sweden) and Mikko Savola (Finland).

The President thanked Mr Stoltenberg.

X. Address by Volodymyr ZELENSKYY, President of Ukraine

Mr Zelenskyy addressed the Assembly via video conference.

The President thanked Mr Zelenskyy.

XI. Women for Peace and Security Award 2022

The President addressed the Assembly and announced the winner of the Women for Peace and Security Award, Olha Stefanishyna, Deputy Prime Minister for European and Euro-Atlantic Integration of Ukraine.

A video address from **Ms Stefanishyna** was shown.

The President invited the Head of the Ukraine Delegation, Yehor Cherniev, to accept the award on Ms Stefanishyna's behalf.

Yehor Cherniev (Ukraine) addressed the Assembly.

The President thanked Mr Cherniev.

XII. Election of the Vice Presidents

There being five nominations for the positions of Vice-President, **Michal Szczerba** (Poland), **Nicu Falcoi** (Romania), **Zaida Cantera** (Spain), **Kevan Jones** (United Kingdom) and **Linda Sanchez** (United States) were **elected by acclamation**.

The President congratulated Michal Szczerba, Nicu Falcoi, Zaida Cantera, Kevan Jones and Linda Sanchez on their election.

XIII. Address by Cédric Perrin (France), general rapporteur of the Defence and Security Committee on the draft resolution, adopted by the Committee, on *Supporting NATO's Madrid Summit Defence and Deterrence Initiatives*, discussion and vote on the draft resolution [172 DSC 22 E rev.1]

Cédric Perrin presented the draft resolution.

The President thanked Mr Perrin.

The draft resolution [172 DSC 22 E rev.1] was adopted.

XIV. Address by Julie DZEROWICZ (Canada), acting general rapporteur of the Committee on Democracy and Security on the draft resolution, adopted by the Committee, on *Strengthening the Cyber Resilience of Allied Societies*, discussion and vote on the draft resolution [166 CDS 22 E rev. 1]

Julie Dzerowicz presented the draft resolution on behalf of **Joëlle Garriaud-Maylam**, general rapporteur of the Committee on Democracy and Security and President-elect

The President thanked Ms Dzerowicz.

The draft resolution [166 CDS 22 E rev. 1] was adopted.

XV. Address by Michal SZCZERBA (Poland), acting general rapporteur of the Economics and Security Committee on the draft resolution, adopted by the Committee, on *The Corruption – Security Nexus*, discussion and vote on the draft resolution [177 ESC 22 E rev.1]

Michal Szczerba presented the draft resolution on behalf of **Harriet Baldwin** (United Kingdom), general rapporteur of the Economics and Security Committee.

The President thanked Mr Szczerba.

The draft resolution [177 ESC 22 E rev.1] was adopted.

XVI. Address by Michal SZCZERBA (Poland), acting general rapporteur of the Economics and Security Committee on the draft resolution, adopted by the Committee, on *Russia's War on Ukraine: Economic Consequences and Responses*, discussion and vote on the draft resolution [182 ESC 22 E rev.1]

Michal Szczerba presented the draft resolution on behalf of **Harriet Baldwin** (United Kingdom), general rapporteur of the Economics and Security Committee.

The President thanked Mr Szczerba.

The draft resolution [182 ESC 22 E rev.1] was adopted.

XVII. Address by Tomas Valasek (Slovakia), acting general rapporteur of the Political Committee, on the draft resolution, adopted by the Committee, on *NATO post-Madrid Summit: Fit for Purpose in the New Strategic Era*, discussion and vote on the draft resolution [178 PC 22 E rev.1]

Tomas Valasek presented the draft resolution.

Marja-Liisa Völlers (Germany), on behalf of **Johann Wadephul** (Germany) moved amendment No. 1 as follows:

After paragraph 19.a, insert a new sub-paragraph

19.b to finalise as soon as possible the ratification of Finland's and Sweden's accession to the North Atlantic Alliance

Tomas Valasek replied.

The President thanked Mr Valasek.

Amendment No. 1 was adopted.

The draft resolution [178 PC 22 E rev.1], as amended, was adopted.

XVIII. Address by Sven Clement (Luxembourg), special rapporteur of the Science and Technology Committee on the draft resolution, adopted by the Committee, on *Climate Change and International Security*, discussion and vote on the draft resolution [179 STC 22 E rev.1]

Sven Clement presented the draft resolution.

The President thanked Mr Clement.

The draft resolution [179 STC 22 E rev.1] was adopted.

XIX. Address by Wolfgang HELLMICH, Treasurer of the Assembly, and vote on the *Draft* Budget for the Financial Year 2023 [094 FIN 22 E rev.1 bis]

The Treasurer presented the draft budget and answered questions from **Theo Francken** (Belgium) and **Lord Hamilton of Epsom** (United Kingdom)

The Draft Budget for the Financial Year 2022 [094 FIN 22 E rev.1 bis] was adopted.

XX. Closure of the Session

Lord Campbell of Pittenweem (United Kingdom) applauded **the President** for his service as President of the Assembly for the past two years.

The President thanked **Lord Campbell of Pittenween**, the Assembly Secretariat, his colleagues of the United States delegation, Mrs Smitty Connolly and Mr Collin Davenport.

The session closed at 15:00