Deputy Head of the Delegation

Political party: Labour Party
Country: United Kingdom
Chamber: House of Commons
Address: c/o Abi Samuels Secretary of the UK Delegation to the NATO PA Overseas Office – Parliamentary Assemblies Section House of Commons GB - LONDON SW1A 0AA
At the Assembly since: 2017
Committee(s) and Sub-Committee(s): DSC,DSC/FC,DSC/TC,GNIC,GSM,SC,SC,STC,STC/TTS
Official website: Click Here


The Rt Hon Kevan Jones MP is the Labour MP for North Durham and has been an MP continuously since 7 June 2001. He was elected Vice-President of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly during its Annual Session in Madrid in November 2022. In addition, he has been the Deputy Leader of the United Kingdom Delegation and Chair of the Science and Technology Sub-Committee on Technology Trends and Security (STCTTS) since November 2022. He previously served as Chairperson of the Science and Technology Committee. In the House of Commons, Mr Jones sits on the Defence Committee and the Intelligence and Security Committee. Over his parliamentary career he has also sat on the Procedure Committee and the quinquennial Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill. He was Parliamentary Under-Secretary for Veterans at the Ministry of Defence from 2008 to 2010 and served as Shadow Minister for the Armed Forces between May 2010 and January 2016 . Mr Jones served as a Commonwealth War Graves Commissioner between October 2010 and 2018 and as a Trustee of the Commonwealth War Graves Foundation since 2018. He was appointed to the Privy Council on 24 April 2018. Outside of defence and security, Mr Jones’ main policy interests are mental health and regeneration.

This biography is provided by the member. The NATO PA is not liable for its content.