Ukraine’s Deputy Prime Minister Olha Stefanishyna to receive 2022 “Women for Peace and Security” Award

21 September 2022

The Selection Committee of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly (NATO PA) voted to bestow the second annual “Women for Peace and Security” Award to Ms Olha Stefanishyna, Deputy Prime Minister for European and Euro-Atlantic Integration of Ukraine.  

“As an alliance of democracies, NATO is committed to shared democratic values. Women’s full, equal and meaningful participation in all aspects of peace and security is an essential cornerstone of those values,” said Assembly President Gerald E. Connolly (United States) following her selection. “Ms Stefanishyna has been an ardent champion for Ukraine’s democracy, its European and Euro-Atlantic path and the contribution of women to these causes.” 

“Russia’s unprovoked, unjustified and brutal war against Ukraine is not just an assault on Ukraine. It is an attempt to crush Ukraine’s democracy and undermine democracy everywhere. The Assembly has profound admiration and respect for the courage and resilience Ms Stefanishyna demonstrates in mobilising international support for Ukraine - every single day and against all odds,” President Connolly added. 

“We are very happy to recognise the Deputy Prime Minister’s achievements and tireless efforts with our 2022 ‘Women for Peace and Security’ Award.” 

“This is an honour for me. I accept this Award on behalf of Ukrainian women who are making every effort to protect their country from the Russian invaders and who have been fighting alongside men for freedom and essential democratic values.” 

Olha Stefanishyna has been a Deputy Prime Minister since June 2020. Prior to her current role, she was the Director General in the Government Office for Coordination of European and Euro-Atlantic Integration. 

Ms Stefanishyna also chairs Ukraine’s Commission for Equal Rights for Women and Men. Under her chairpersonship, Ukraine adopted its second National Action Plan to implement the United Nations Security Council Resolution 1325 and climbed 39 spots (to 66th place) in Georgetown’s Women, Peace, & Security Index.  

The Selection Committee is composed of the Assembly’s Bureau and Irene Fellin, the Special Representative of the NATO Secretary General for Women, Peace and Security. Ms Stefanishyna was nominated by Audronius Azubalis, Head of the Lithuanian delegation to the NATO PA. Beside Ms Stefanishyna, the Selection Committee received five other nominations of women who share a deep commitment to the promotion and implementation of the Women, Peace and Security agenda. 

The NATO PA has a long-standing commitment to the promotion and implementation of the Women, Peace and Security agenda. In 2021, the Assembly’s Standing Committee created a “Women for Peace and Security” Award to honour a woman who has made a particular contribution to the equal participation of women and men in the field of peace and security, the protection of women in conflict situations and/or the mainstreaming of women's needs and perspectives into relief and recovery initiatives in post-conflict countries. 

Read also