NATO Parliamentary Assembly bids farewell to  Secretary General David Hobbs

20 December 2019

On 31st December 2019, the NATO Parliamentary Assembly will bid a fond farewell to Secretary General, Mr David Hobbs. 

Mr Hobbs took office as Secretary General of the NATO PA in January 2008, following his election by the heads of national delegations to that body. Since first joining the NATO PA staff as Director of the Science and Technology in 1983, David Hobbs has been instrumental in all the changes and adaptations the institution has gone through. In particular, he was one of the key personnel involved in the Assembly’s adaptation to the post-Cold War environment. This included parliamentary outreach and training programmes, assistance with security sector reform, and the integration of non-member parliaments into the Assembly's activities.

"On 31 December, I will bid farewell to the NATO Parliamentary Assembly after serving 12 years as Secretary General – and quite a lot longer than that in other previous capacities.

It has been a privilege to lead the talented and dedicated team at the International Secretariat and to work with parliamentarians and staff from the more than 60 nations and interparliamentary organizations involved in the Assembly.

During my tenure, I have tried to uphold and promote the principles upon which NATO was founded and which the Assembly embodies: democracy, individual freedom, and the rule of law.

In doing so, I hope that I have strengthened the dynamic and synergistic relationship between NATO and the Assembly, as well as the transatlantic bond which is the Assembly’s heart and lifeblood.

Parliamentarians are a vital - though often behind-the scenes - “force multiplier” in building international cooperation and understanding.  Parliamentary diplomacy promotes international security and stability, and, in a strong field of admirable interparliamentary bodies, the NATO Parliamentary Assembly leads the way.
The Assembly’s members and International Secretariat have been very kind in their assessments of my tenure, and I do take pride in certain achievements and obstacles overcome.  But what I treasure most are the many lifelong friendships I have made through the Assembly, and the opportunities I have had to meet so many remarkable people.

I would like to thank all those who have been involved in the NATO Parliamentary Assembly during my 36-year career for making the organization what it is today.  I am confident that our successors will continually adapt the Assembly to guarantee its future.”

Ms Ruxandra Popa (France), currently the NATO PA’s Deputy Secretary General, will take up the post of Secretary General as of 1 January 2020.

View the special tribute to David Hobbs from HON. GERALD E. CONNOLLY, Head of the United States Delegation to the NATO PA. 

Read also

    No related articles